A Gregorian monk ensemble virtual instrument

  • Kontakt Player 5
  • Kontakt 5
  • Plug-in
$ 199.00

  • Kontakt Player 5
  • Kontakt 5
  • Plug-in
$ 199.00

AwardAwards: The Audio Spotlight, 5 Stars

Download: Owners Manual


Best Service presents Cantus: Gregorian Chants!

Continuing the vocal series by Eduardo Tarilonte, Cantus brings you a real Gregorian Monk Ensemble featuring the sounds of the dark Middle Ages.

A perfect tool for composers and sound designers to create ambiences and music for films, documentaries, video games and new age music.

Unparalleled realism...Pure inspiration

Cantus is a unique choir library aimed at easily creating your own ultra-realistic liturgical melodies, without using any phrases. Cantus offers a powerful and innovative word builder which combines 24 words (120 elements including words and their syllables) with 5 true legato vowels (a, e, i, o, u) and a special Mmmh articulation, all at your finger tips in one patch.


Cantus offers:

• 5 different true Gregorian style legatos (a, e, i, o, u)
• Mmmh articulation
• A powerful word builder with 24 words, 3 different articulations (staccato, fast and slow speeds)
• Words can be split to offer a total of 120 words/syllables
• Words can be combined with true legato playing while the corresponding vowel is automatically
• A collection of 20 Gregorian chants split into 400 phrases
• 60 minutes of music
• 20 soundscapes, created from vocal samples.

Cantus Making Of

Eduardo Tarilonte:

Recording a gregorian choir, has been a long awaited dream coming true since I started developing sample libraries in 2006.
What could look like an easy task is totally the opposite. Finding a true gregorian choir is something hard to accomplish since there are not so many of them and just a few ones are really good. Gregorian music has its own nuances, it is not just another choir, you cannot get the real feeling with a regular choir pretending to sing Gregorian. If you don't capture all those details, if you don't really love Gregorian music, you won't be able to get that true sound. That sound which is so special, that touches your soul and transports you to the middle ages, to those lost abbeys covered by mist, the sound of the ancient bells pealing to pray.
All those lost secrets, all that magic are contained in this library.

I decided to record Cantus in a dry enviroment for many reasons: Gregorian music and reverb are good partners, so I didn't want to tie the recordings to any special room sound. There are so many impressive reverbs out there, that I have chosen that way, to allow you complete control, to adjust the reverb sound to your own taste.
The recording was carefully done with 8 Neumann microphones and mixed to get that true monks sound. I wanted you to feel the cold breath from the mouth of the monks singing in those cold monasteries, just in your face while playing the library. This library is a dream for me, and like in every library I make, there is a lot of love in it. I hope you feel the same goosebumps I feel.

Enjoy your journey to those mysterious ancient days of the lost abbeys.
Cantus Making Of


February 2014


The latest NI Kontakt Player is included in this product!
The minimum Kontakt Player version to use this library is specified in the product description.

Windows 7 or Windows 8 (latest Service Pack, 32/64 Bit), Intel Core Duo or AMD Athlon 64, 2 GB RAM (4GB recommended)

Mac OS X 10.7 or 10.8 (latest update), Intel Core Duo, 2 GB RAM (4GB recommended)


• Stand-Alone
• Audio Units
• RTAS (Pro Tools 9 + 10)
• CoreAudio
• AAX Native (Pro Tools 10)
• 64-bit AAX-Plug-ins (Pro Tools 11)

- 5 different true Gregorian style legatos (a, e, i, o, u)

- Mmmh articulation.

- A powerful word builder with 24 words, 3 different articulations (staccato, fast and slow speeds).

- Words can be split to offer a total of 120 words/syllables.

- Words can be combined with true legato playing while the corresponding vowel is automatically selected.

- A collection of 20 Gregorian chants split into 400 phrases.

- 60 minutes of music.

- 19 soundscapes, created from vocal samples.

License Agreement

The Following End User License Agreement is included with Cantus. This License is only valid for the individual who has purchased an unopened, new and lawfully made copy of Cantus from a dealer or distributor authorized by Big Fish Audio.

"For software products produced by Best Service the German Copyright Act is effective. All other Software products sold and/or distributed by Best Service are subject to the license agreement which is part of the respective software installer.

The samples and programs contained in any software/library produced by Best Service are licensed to the owner/buyer of the product only. Only the purchaser of this CD is authorized to use the sounds for his music-, multimedia-, film-, radio-, games-, webcast- or similar productions and only as long as no isolated samples, loops or phrases become available for a third party.

It is not allowed to use the samples and programs within a network if this opens the possibility to be used simultaneously by multiple users. Unauthorized copying, reproduction (including conversion and reproduction in other data formats), hire, rental, public performance, broadcasting and distribution is expressly prohibited. Best Service constantly monitors other soundware releases to check for copyright infringements, and will prosecute all piracy and copyright violations to the fullest extent of the law.

Products marked as NFR (Not For Resale) may only be used for demonstration, reviewing or testing, but not for commercial production.

EDU (educational) products – products marked as EDU may only be used by the authorized institution, their teachers, pupils and students for education purposes but not for commercial production. EDU versions are not allowed to be resold or distributed in any way."



Article Rating Author
The Audio Spotlight 5/5


  This product is compatible with...
  Kontakt 4
  Kontakt 5
  Kontakt Player 4
  Kontakt Player 5