Big Fish Audio - Synth Explorer - DX7 - Pay tribute to the legendry synthesisers and drum machines of the past
Skip to content

Savings up to 70% off! ShopWeekly Specials.

Savings up to 70% off!
ShopWeekly Specials.


Synth Explorer - DX7

Pay tribute to the legendry synthesisers and drum machines of the past
$12.87 - $19.34
EXS24, SoundFont, HALion, WAV, Live, REX, Kontakt, Apple Loops, Refill, NNXT, Kong
  Please make a selection above
  • Loops
  • Sounds


Welcome to the Synth Explorer series of royalty free loops and one shot samples that pay tribute to the legendry synthesisers and drum machines that have inspired generations of electronic music producers from the early electronic revolution right up to the current day.

This time out we visit Yamaha and delve inside the FM beast that is the DX7.  The Yamaha DX7 is an FM (Frequency Modulation) digital synth and was manufactured from 1983 to 1989. The DX became the first commercially successful Digital synth and featured in hundreds of productions from Electro Pop, Jazz, Rock and early 90s House music it in fact seemed to be everywhere..

It is most famous for its Electric Piano, Bells, Plucked and Percussive Sounds, but the complex way the sounds are shaped with multiple Sine Waves modulating each other using 32 different algorithms meant that the sound design possibilities were huge and with some patience and effort very complex sounds from horns to strings, atmospheres and crazy metallic sound effects were possible.

This edition of Vintage Explorer sees a wealth of Loop and one shot samples that play homage to its 80s heritage but each sound and loop has been given a modern production finish and contains loops and sounds suitable for a wide range of productions from Dubstep, Drum & Bass, House, Future House, Indie & Nu Disco.

The collection features an inspiring range of loops at between 80 and 120BPM and one shot sounds covering a wide sonic palate including Chunky Bass and Metallic Melodies, Classic Stabs and Chords,  Digital Pads,  Crunchy Percussion and Twisted SFX

In Detail expect to find 484Mb 24Bit 44.1kHz Loops and sounds including 13 Bass Loops, 73 Music Loops, 1 Drum Loop, 20 Arp Loops, 3 Pad Loops, 39 Bass Stabs, 29 Lead Sounds, 51 Pad Shots, 55 Synth Hits, 43 SFX Sounds, 5 Multi Sampled Bass Instruments, 5 Multi Sampled Synth Instruments, 59 Drum Sounds, 110 Rex2 Files and 202 Soft Sampler Patches.

DX7- Specifications:
- Synthesis Type: FM (Frequency Modulation)
- Polyphony: Max: 16
- Multi-timbral: No
- Oscillators per Voice: Min: 1 / Max: 2
- Controllers: Breath / Foot 1 & 2/ Sustain
- Keyboard: 61 Keys
- Memory: Patches: 64 / Performances: 32 (more with Cartridges)
- Inputs and Outputs: 2 + Headphones / MIDI in, Out and Through
- Famous Owners: Underworld, Orbital, BT, Steve Winwood, Depeche Mode, Chick Corea, Herbie Hancock

Each collection in the series will be produced, performed and recorded by highly regarded producers who will remain anonymous as they take a step back and let these classic synths take to the stage. So get ready as we start the a brand new sonic adventure with Synth Explorer 4 – DX7
Product Details:

- 484Mb
- 24Bit 44.1kHz
- 13 Bass Loops
- 73 Music Loops
- 1 Drum Loop
- 20 Arp Loops
- 3 Pad Loops
- 39 Bass Stabs
- 29 Lead Sounds
- 51 Pad Shots
- 55 Synth Hits
- 43 SFX Sounds
- 5 Multi Sampled Bass Instruments
- 5 Multi Sampled Synth Instruments
- 59 Drum Sounds
- 110 Rex2 Files
- 202 Soft Sampler Patches

Download Sizes

Version Compressed Download Size
Kong/NNXT/SoundFont/HALion/Kontakt/Apple Loops/REX Download includes
  Full Pack (Apple):  438.1 MB
Live Download includes
  Full Pack (Live):  363.8 MB
Refill Download includes
  Full Pack (Refill):  238.8 MB
Kong/NNXT/EXS24/SoundFont/HALion/Kontakt/REX/WAV Download includes
  Full Pack (WAV):  438.1 MB
Kong/NNXT/EXS24/SoundFont/HALion/Kontakt/WAV Download includes
  One Shots & Sampler Patches ONLY:  256.9 MB
WAV Download includes
  WAV Loops ONLY:  128.1 MB

*When ordering the download product from Big Fish Audio you will be given one or more links for each of your product purchases. The links will be active for 24 hours. During this time you should download the file and expand it. You can return to your Big Fish Audio account at any time and download your products. You will find your products in the "My Products" area of your account page.

License Agreement

The Following End User License Agreement is included with Synth Explorer - DX7. This License is only valid for the individual who has purchased an unopened, new and lawfully made copy of Synth Explorer - DX7 from a dealer or distributor authorized by Big Fish Audio.

"All Rights not expressly granted to the user are reserved. The sound samples in this sample pack are licensed, not sold, to you to be reproduced within your original musical compositions only. All copying, lending, duplicating, re-selling or trading of this product or its content is strictly prohibited. Only the original purchaser of this product has the right to embody and reproduce the enclosed sound samples within their music compositions. The Licensee may use the Sounds in combination with other sounds in music productions (which include soundtracks of such as films, video productions, radio/TV programs or commercials, "

Back to top
clear list